



Hon Kevin Foley

Deputy Premier Treasurer Minister for Industry and Trade Minister for Federal/State Relations

Monday, 2 March 2009

KIM BEAZLEY JOINS SOUTH AUSTRALIA'S INFLUENTIAL DEFENCE BOARD

Deputy Premier Kevin Foley and General Peter Cosgrove AC MC today announced the appointment of former Deputy Prime Minister Professor the Hon Kim Beazley AC to the Defence SA Advisory Board.

"I am delighted to welcome Prof Beazley to the Defence SA Advisory Board" Mr Foley says.

"As former federal Labour leader, his extensive parliamentary and ministerial experience will greatly support our aim to grow South Australia's Defence presence and build sustainable defence industries.

"Plus, having served as Minister for Defence for six years, Prof Beazley has extensive experience in Defence and was directly involved in the last submarine procurement process.

"His experience will be invaluable as planning begins for the next generation of submarines.

"Prof Beazley shares our view that a vibrant defence industry is vital to Australia's self reliance.

"The national defence industry requires clear guidance from Defence on the capabilities that will be procured, upgraded and exported from within country. His advocacy on this issue as part of the Defence SA Advisory Board will benefit Australia's local defence industry base."

Defence SA Advisory Board Chairman, General Peter Cosgrove AC MC also welcomed the Government's appointment.

"Prof Beazley will add significant value to the Defence SA Advisory Board," General Cosgrove says.

"He is totally committed to ensuring that South Australia maintains its position as the Defence State."

The Defence SA Advisory Board provides top level defence strategy and policy advice to the South Australian Government.

Membership is reviewed on an annual basis to allow the injection of new knowledge and expertise.

Prof Kim Beazley has been appointed to the Board for an initial two-year period.

Biography - Prof Kim Beazley

Prof Kim Beazley AC served in Federal Parliament from 1980 to 2007.

In a ministerial career spanning 13 years, Kim Beazley held a range of portfolios including Aviation, Defence, Transport and Communications, Finance, and Employment Education and Training. He was Australia's youngest Defence Minister upon his appointment in 1984, and served in this portfolio for nearly six years.

In June 1995, the Federal Labor Caucus elected Kim Beazley as Deputy Prime Minister, a position he held until the general election in March 1996.

Kim Beazley was elected as Leader of the Opposition and Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party in March 1996, a position he held until the general election in 2001. He was Shadow Minister for Defence, and served in this position until the general election in 2004.

Kim Beazley was educated at the University of Western Australia and at Oxford University and has Masters degrees in Arts and Philosophy. He is a former Rhodes Scholar and currently Professorial Fellow of Political Science and International Relations at the University of Western Australia and Chancellor of the Australian National University.

Background - Defence SA Advisory Board

The Defence SA Advisory Board was established 1 September 2007 to provide high level policy and strategy advice to Government to promote the continued growth of Defence and defence industries in South Australia. Membership comprises:

- General Peter Cosgrove AC MC (Chairman) former Chief of the Defence Force (2002 2005) and Australian of the Year (2001)
- Professor Kim Beazley AC former Deputy Prime Minister (1995 1996) and Minister for Defence (1984 – 1990)
- Dr Ian Chessell South Australia's current Chief Scientist and former Australian Chief Defence Scientist (2000 – 2003)
- Air Marshal Les Fisher AO former Chief of Air Force (1994 1998)
- Mr Andrew Fletcher Chief Executive, Defence SA
- Mr Malcolm Kinnaird AO leading South Australian businessman, Chairman of Defence Procurement Review 1993 and South Australian of the Year (2003)
- Ms Beth Laughton economist, investment banker and company director
- Lieutenant General Peter Leahy AC former Chief of Army (2002 2008)
- Rear Admiral Trevor Ruting AM CSC RANR recently retired Head Maritime Systems, Defence Materiel Organisation
- Vice Admiral David Shackleton AO former Chief of Navy (1999 2002)

The Premier and Deputy Premier are ex officio members of the Board.

Emeritus Professor Paul Dibb AM is an Advisor to the Board on strategic policy matters.